Can you pass the ball using the point of your shoulder?
I was reffing U18-1 with some very talented players, a ball was chipped into the midfielder and I expected him to chest the ball but he attacked the ball by moving his shoulder back then forward, striking the ball right on the point of the front of the shoulder right where the arm bone joins the shoulder bone (hard to describe, easy to demonstrate!), being able to pass the ball a good 10m . I immediately blew the whistle for handball and the player was quite perplexed. After the game I thought about it and have since asked several refs but cannot get consensus. I have never seen this technique before but the player genuinely believed it was legitimate. Guess it begs the question where does the arm finish (prob a good question for another thread I get different answers on that one e.g. shirt sleeve, elbow...) thanks
Post by Direstraits Referee on Jul 31, 2014 16:04:45 GMT 10
The offence known as “handling the ball” involves deliberate contact with the ball by a player’s hand or arm. The 'handling' includes fingertips, upper arm, and the outer part of the shoulder. It does not include the top of the shoulder. It depends on what part of the shoulder is used. The upper chest and the inner part of the shoulder are often used to control a ball down to the ground. The referee should observe these carefully, and if any of the arm is used, including the part where it meets the shoulder, that is deliberately handling the ball. On the other hand, using just the upper shoulder and the chest is generally not regarded as a handling violation.
I hope this answers your question although, as always, it is in the opinion of the referee.
Realise that we live in the real world, not an ideal one.
It seems to me that if they were able to direct the ball 10metres, then, they used the top of their arm and that would amount to handball. I think players try to get away with anything they can. I feel you got it right.