I had the issue that seems to be more often these days where a corner kick is given.
One of the defenders who appears as though they will take the kick walks over to the corner and only slightly touches the ball to put it into play.
Sometimes even the AR does not notice this slight touch unless they are told about it beforehand and certainly the referee struggles to notice the kick having been taken already.
Do you allow play to continue in this situation or, call an IFK for the defending team when the 2nd defender touches what it appears, in your view, is a 2nd touch of the ball.
In any case, I am starting to think this conduct is unsporting conduct a bit like the deliberate trick to circumvent the law and pass the ball to the GK, and the player that just so slightly touches it, maybe they should be penalised there and then and cautioned as well.
Reading law 17 closely (The Corner Kick), it says the ball is in play when it is kicked. It also says under the section of Interpretation of the Laws of the Game that the ball does not have to leave the arc to be in play.
So I think if a player touches the ball, as you have stated JD, he hasn't kicked it and therefore when a second player then starts to dribble the ball away I would stop play and award an indirect free kick to the defending team (for touching the ball a second time from a corner kick).
I wouldn't caution for a trick as trickery is part of the game. Example of trickery is to feign when dribbling the ball to go one way but then to go the other way. Trickery is only penalised if the law says to penalise the trick, as per your example JD. I also read that trickery is part of the game in one of the quizzes in the The Asian Football Confederation web-site. (I can't remember which quiz it was).
Yes, I went with your option pj when it happened. I did not see the orgiinal touch, neither did the AR.
So, IFK to the defending team was given from the place where the ball was touched the 2nd time.
They shrugged their shoulders and I said to them, "I am not sure what happened but I am sure I think you touched the ball twice, so no matter what, it seems very close to unsporting conduct so perhaps I should be showing you a caution, but I won't do that....and so play went on and we all moved along"
I hope it happens less and less. It does not look good.
I wouldn't be showing a card for this. Based on what they did, IMHO the free kick is an adequate penalty. Also, the opposition will now be aware of the 'trick' so it shouldn't happen again and they they do it tuff, I'd let it continue this time. You already gave the defence a chance to wise up.
The correct decision is as long as the ball has moved it is play on. It is not an attempt to circumvent the LOTG. I have had a case where the wind blew the ball out for a throw in as it rolled backwards after the player touched it.